CCRN Practice Exam Review

CCRN (critical care register nurse) is a high level of nursing specialization. The American Association of Critical Care Nurses sponsors the exams. A particular exam will cover critical care for adult, pediatric, or neonatal patients.

To take the CCRN test, a nurse must also have a current RN or APRN license valid in the United States. The license must not be subject to formal discipline and may not have any limitations on the nurse's ability to practice. Applicants are occasionally audited and may be asked to provide a copy of their license. A license copy is not required for the normal application process.

To qualify for the CCRN test, a nurse must have administered 1,750 hours of bedside care to patients who were critically ill at the time. Such work must have been performed within the last two years, and most of the hours must be within the most recent year. The clinical hours must have taken place in the United States or Canada or at a facility certified to offer comparable critical care practice.

Nurses actively involved in patient care in the role of an educator, supervisor, preceptor, or APRN may receive credit for hours spent training students and nurses during critical bedside care.

For the CCRN, a bachelor's degree is not necessary. The test lasts three hours and includes 150 items. The exam focuses on adult, pediatric, or neonatal populations, and 80 percent of the questions focus on clinical judgment for a particular patient age group. All of the remaining questions are about professional care and ethics for patients of any age.

On each CCRN test, there are 25 items included for pretest purposes. They do not count toward the score, since the validity of the test items is still under evaluation.

The normal testing fee is $330. Members of the AACN Certification Corporation, a separately incorporated company which develops and administers the CCRN, may take the test for $220.

The AACN provides online verification of current certification and allows customers to print out evidence of the certification. A nurse who passes this certification process may add the letters CCRN after the letters that indicate a particular license.

We have provided the CCRN test resources and the tools. The rest is up to you- the best teacher is the person who knows you best- YOU!

Take the self assessment module quiz below (make notes of your scores and remember which revealed significant gaps in your learning):


What does the CCRN stand for?

CCRN stands for Critical Care Registered Nurse.

What is on the CCRN exam?

The CCRN exam contains 150 “items”, 125 of which are scored. The others are used as statistical data for future exams.

What do you have to score on the CCRN to pass?

To pass the CCRN exam, you must have a score of at least 88.

What do you have to do to become a critical care nurse?

To become a critical care nurse, you must first get a certification, such as the CCRN, or degree. Then you must pass the NCLEX, which is an exam for registered nurses.

How much does it cost to take the CCRN adult exam?

The CCRN Adult exam will cost $225 for AACN members and $330 for nonmembers.

How long does it take to get the CCRN scores?

For computer-based testing, scores will be received immediately. For those who take the paper-and-pencil test will receive results by mail 3-4 weeks after testing.

How long do you have to wait before you can retake a CCRN exam?

You can retake the CCRN exam up to four times in a 12-month period.

Self-Assessment Modules for the CCRN:

CCRN Practice Test Questions

CCRN Exam Review

CCRN Test Study Guide & Practice Questions


Last Updated: 07/05/2018

© 2018 Copyright | All Rights Reserved
All material on this website is copyrighted. provides free unofficial review materials for a variety of exams.
All trademarks are property of their respective owners.