Informatics Nurse Exam Review

The Informatics Nurse certification indicates specialization in managing patient information. This includes managing and gathering patient data, as well as formulating programs in which this data can be used constructively to provide better nursing care. Informatics nurses are employed in clinical, administrative, and educational fields.

In order to take the Informatics Nurse certification exam, the applicant must be a licensed Registered Nurse with at least a Baccalaureate degree. At least 2 years of full-time RN employment should have been completed. In addition, at least 30 hours of continuing education credits in the field of informatics should have been completed over the past 3 years. At least one of the following requirements must also be met: at least 2,000 hours of employment in the field of informatics over the past 3years, 1,000 hours of employment in informatics with 12 hours of graduate-level academics completed, or completion of a graduate-level academic program in informatics that covered a minimum of 200 academic hours.

The Informatics Nurse certification exam is available to RNs throughout the year at various testing sites across the United States. The fee to take the exam is $230 for American Nurses Association (ANA) members and $370 for non-members.

The exam consists of 175 questions of which 25 of the questions are used for pre-testing purposes only for possible inclusion on future exams. The Informatics Nurse certification exam tests the RN's knowledge of information management as it relates to patient care, along with the utilization of nursing models and theories incorporated with patient factors.

The Informatics Nurse certification is valid for 3 years. At the end of that time period, the licensed RN must have completed at least 1,000 hours of employment in an informatics position. In addition, at least 75 continuing education hours should have been completed or other educational activities should have been completed as outlined by the American Nurses Credentialing Center. The fee for renewal is $160 for ANA members and $290 for non-members as long as the practice hour and continuing education hour requirements are met. For those who wish to retake the exam in order to recertify, the fee is $230 for ANA members and $370 for non-members.

Nursing Certification Central

Informatics Nurse Exam Questions

Informatics Nurse Practice Questions

1. According to Part I of the International Medical Informatics Association (IMIA) Code of Ethics, legitimate infringement refers to:

a. Consideration for the greater good of society in regard to an individual's right to privacy.
b. Consideration of the rules of conduct related to the right to privacy.
c. Maintenance of an individual's right to privacy.
d. Right to access of personal information.

2. The data representation method that can be used across multiple platforms to represent text for most languages, including Asian, is:

a. Binary code.
b. Hexadecimal code.
c. Unicode Standard code.
d. Extended binary coded decimal interchange code.

3. Bloom's taxonomy outlines behaviors necessary for learning. Which 3 kinds of learning does the theory describe?

a. Auditory, visual, and kinesthetic.
b. Formal and informal.
c. Attitudes, subjective norms, and behavioral intention.
d. Cognitive, affective, and psychomotor.

4. The nursing theory that includes the concepts of self-care, self-care deficit, and nursing systems is:

a. General theory of nursing (Orem).
b. Total-person systems models (Neuman).
c. Nursing process theory (Orlando).
d. Crisis theory (Hoff).

5. When generating a report of an information system, an error/exception report can indicate:

a. Data about the system itself.
b. Data outside of normal parameters.
c. Changes occurring over a period of time.
d. How the elements of the system compare to the baseline.

Answers and Explanations

1. A: Legitimate infringement: Consideration for greater good of society in regard to individual's right to privacy. Part I, the introduction, of the IMIA Code of Ethics includes the six primary ethical principles: autonomy, equality and justice, beneficence, non-malfeasance, impossibility, and integrity. General principles in the introduction include:

  • The right to privacy regarding sharing of personal information and control of types of collection, methods of collection, and storage.
  • Open process of data collection with patient informed.
  • Security of all data collection and protection from data manipulation.
  • Right to access of personal data.
  • Infringement of right to privacy with minimum interference.
  • Accountability for infringement.

2. C: The Unicode Standard coding scheme, used with the Universal Character Set (UCS), is a standardized coding system that has a larger capacity and can be used to represent text for most languages, including Asian. Coding is available to represent technical characters, punctuation, and mathematic symbols. Unicode provides a specific numeric value for each character and can be used across multiple platforms. Unicode comprises approximately 110,000 characters representing all alphabets in the world languages, ideographic sets, and symbols, as well as 100 scripts, and is particularly valuable for making coding accessible internationally. Unicode is utilized in many technologies and operating systems.

3. D: Bloom's taxonomy describes 3 types of learning:

  • Cognitive: Learning and gaining intellectual skills and mastering categories of effective learning (knowledge, comprehension, application, analysis, synthesis, and evaluation).
  • Affective: Recognizing categories of feelings and values from simple to complex (receiving and responding to phenomena, valuing, organizing and internalizing values).
  • Psychomotor: Mastering motor skills necessary for independence, following a progression from simple to complex (perception, set, guided response, mechanism, complex overt response, adaptation, origination).

4. A: Orem's general theory of nursing is based on 3 theories: self-care, self-care deficit, and nursing systems. Neuman's total-person systems model focuses on how the individual reacts to stress through mechanisms of defense and resistance and how this feedback affects that individual's stability. Interventions include primary, secondary, and tertiary. Orlando's nursing process theory includes the behavior of the patient, the nurse's reaction, and the subsequent nurse actions. Huff's crisis theory considers those stress-related events that are turning points in a person's life and can lead to danger or to opportunity.

5. B: Types of system reports that may be available include:

  • Error/Exception: Indicate faults or data outside of normal parameters.
  • Configuration: Contain data about the system itself, including hardware and software as well as workstations and servers.
  • Informational: Often include built-in templates and provide fact-finding to glean information from databases.
  • Change: Usually automated and show changes occurring in the system over a period of time.
  • Baseline: Usually automated to show how the system or elements of the system compare to a baseline.
  • Summary/Management: Show summaries of actions, processes, data.
  • Periodic: Issued at predetermined periods, such as monthly claims reports.

Informatics Nurse Exam Blueprint and Breakdown


Last Updated: 04/18/2018

© 2018 Copyright | All Rights Reserved
All material on this website is copyrighted. provides free unofficial review materials for a variety of exams.
All trademarks are property of their respective owners.