Minors, who are residents in the state of Florida, may begin their application for a Florida Class E Driver’s License as soon as they turn 15. The process begins with the successful completion of an online Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course. Then, after gathering the appropriate documents and people, minors can go into the local DMV, where they apply for a Learner’s Permit. There, they will take a number of tests, including vision, hearing, road signs, and road rules examinations.
After one year of driving under the restrictions of the permit, minors are able to take a road test and receive their Intermediate License (operator’s license), which allows them to drive unsupervised during normal hours.
The following guide includes some helpful advice and more specific information that will make the entire process easier to understand, plan for, and perform.
For the Learner’s Permit
Class E Learner’s Permits require individuals to complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course. There is no need to bring any documentation of the completion of this course to the DMV, as all certification is completed through the DMV network. Authorized administrators of the exam will automatically send your accreditation to the state of Florida, so that when you apply for your Learner’s Permit, the system will recognize your certification. Exams must be proctored by a parent or guardian. Read below for more information.
There are two different documents that must be brought to the DMV for the Learner’s Permit. These are the Parent/Guardian Online Test Proctoring and Parental Consent Forms. Most often, these are both signed at the DMV in the presence of a state official. However, it is also possible to have one’s parent or guardian sign these forms in front of a Notary, which can often be found in banks, postal offices, and mailing services, as well as in a handful of other businesses. The Parental Consent Form may be found by navigating to the following link at the Department of Motor Vehicles website.
Documents to Bring to the DMV
In order to apply for a driver’s permit, minors will need to bring their birth certificate or other certified form of identification, their original social security card, and proof of their address. The easiest, most convenient way to know what documents you should bring is linked through the Florida DMV site and can be found at What to Bring. Simply input all the relevant information; the utility will tell you what you will need to bring.
Operator’s License (Intermediate License)
There are only a few differences in the documentation required for operator’s license applicants. For instance, the parental consent form reflects that the minor has driven under supervision for at least the 50-hour minimum. The form may be found at the DMV website. In addition, there will be a road test, administered to the applicant.
There are still some restrictions on individuals under the age of 18. Individuals between 16 and 17 can only drive unsupervised from 6 a.m. to 11 p.m. while 17-year-olds may drive from 5 a.m. in the morning to 1 a.m. at night. At all other times, a licensed adult must be present in the vehicle. After they turn 18, drivers in the state of Florida have no more restrictions.
The entire Florida Driver’s Handbook can be downloaded as a PDF at the National Safety Commission’s website.
For the closest Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles office location, navigate to the DMV website’s office locator service page. Then select your county to start the process.
Click Here for DMV Test Directory
by Mometrix Test Preparation | Last Updated: April 5, 2019