Learn how to get a license in the state of Massachusetts by reading this resource. Not only will information be provided, regarding state law and procedures, but also links to important government forms, manuals, and website tools. Read on for everything you need to know in order to get licensed.
Overview of the Process
Application for a driver’s license in Massachusetts begins with the Class D Learner’s Permit. The permit becomes available to anyone older than 16, and it is a necessary step toward getting a license as a minor.
The first thing to consider is the knowledge test, which you must pass to receive your permit. In order to pass, you will need to study the Massachusetts Driver’s Manual. This item contains information regarding traffic laws, procedures, and operations, in addition to the content on the road test. Read this resource. After each section, look over what you have read to make sure you did not gloss over the material. The examination fee is $30.00 and non-refundable, so studying is advisable. The Massachusetts Driver’s Manual is available on the RMV website.
Applicants will also need to bring three documents with them to the RMV office to prove their age and legal status. A birth certificate will certify the applicant’s age. Applicants must know their social security number to verify legal status. The state official helping you with your application will check the social security number you provide, along with the birth certificate.
If over 18, proof of residence is also required, such as a utility bill, mortgage agreement, etc. At 16, you also need parental consent. A parent or guardian will be asked to sign the back of the application, and guardians will be asked to prove their guardianship before their signature will be accepted.
Whereas most states will allow applicants to use a driver’s license or learner’s permit for any further ID or driver’s licenses issued, the state of Massachusetts requires that applicants bring in original documents for every new form of ID. This means that six months later when you return to the RMV for your license, you will need to bring back all of the same documents. A list of acceptable documents can be found on page 12 of the Massachusetts Driver’s Manual.
After the appropriate documents are presented and the knowledge test passed, a vision test will be administered. After the fee is paid, the RMV will issue your permit, which allows you to drive under the supervision of an adult or driving instructor.
After receiving a permit, you need to take a registrar-approved driver education course. There will also be a final exam. The results of the exam will be sent electronically to the state, so no additional documents will be issued.
Also, before receiving a license, minors must finish 40 hours of supervised driving. This requirement can be decreased to 30 hours if the applicant finishes a driver development program. It is important to keep a record of the time you spend behind the wheel. When you go back to the RMV, you will be asked to present a written record of your training hours.
Important Restrictions on Licenses for Minors
After you receive your license you will be able to drive unsupervised; however, for the first six months you will not be authorized to transport anyone under 18 with you, without the supervision of an adult. Additionally, you are not authorized to drive from 12:30 a.m. to 5 a.m. If you transgress either of these rules, your license will be subject to a 60-day suspension.
Click Here for DMV Test Directory
by Mometrix Test Preparation | Last Updated: April 5, 2019