If you or your teenager are wondering what needs to happen in order to get a driver’s license in Nebraska, you both should read the following guide. All of the most important resources and explanations will be provided over the next page to communicate just what you need with no extraneous information.
The first thing to think about is the Learner’s Permit, which is the first step toward licensure in Nebraska. The Learner’s Permit allows the individual to drive under the supervision of a parent or instructor. To qualify for a Learner’s Permit, you must be at least 15. It is possible to take the necessary exams up to 60 days in advance of turning 15, but the permit will not become operational until the owner’s 15th birthday.
The next important step is the Provisional Operator’s Permit (POP). This permit gives the driver the ability to drive without supervision from six in the morning until 12 midnight. There are some exceptions to this rule, which are made for school or professional activities that are required during that time period. No matter the excuse, it must be verifiable in order to exonerate the driver. In addition, POP owners will only be able to transport one passenger at a time for the first six months after issuance of the license. Family members and people over 19 years of age do not count toward this rule. Six months after the POP is issued, this restriction is lifted.
In order to become eligible for a POP, you need to have driven with an LPD for at least six months without significant violations or errors on your record. Specifically, you need to have accumulated less than three points on your driving record. Consult the DMV website for a listing of the points attached to each violation or error.
In addition, drivers must fulfill a driving requirement to become eligible for a POP. Teens have a choice regarding how they will fulfill the driver-training requirement. On the one hand, they can complete a Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles-approved driver safety course, successfully passing both the written and driving exams. Alternately, they can fulfill at least 50 hours of driving under the supervision of a parent. At least 10 of these training hours must be completed after dark, and the parent or guardian who supervised the training period must sign the 50-hour certification form to present at the DMV.
If a Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles-approved driver safety course is chosen, the instructor may be asked to fill out a Written and Drive Test Waiver to be turned in with the application for the POP. Essentially, this means that if you choose the driver safety course, you will not be required to take the driving exam at the DMV. Alternately, if you do not want to take the driving test, then it is automatically waived once you turn 18.
At 17, if you have had the POP for one year, you qualify for the Operator’s Driver’s License.
Preparation for the Written and Driving Tests
It is advisable to concentrate on preparing for the tests ahead of time, as they are time-consuming and exam fees are non-refundable.
Approximately 40-50% of those who take the driving and written tests for the Learner’s Permit and Provisional Operator’s Permit actually fail the test. For the written test, read through the driver’s manual, being sure that you understand every law. If you have difficulty with a section, do not hesitate to ask a parent, driving instructor, or teacher for help.
For the driving test, be sure to read through the requirements and procedures of the test, and then practice while you have the Learner’s Permit.
Click Here for DMV Test Directory
by Mometrix Test Preparation | Last Updated: April 5, 2019