Free Certified Registered Nurse First Assistant (CRNFA) Practice Test

The Certified Registered Nurse First Assistant certification provides the Registered Nurse with the specialized credentials that indicate specific training has been completed to care for surgical patients. The Certified Registered Nurse First Assistant certification is recommended for RNs who assist in surgical procedures, as well as perform pre- and postoperative assessments.

In order to take the Certified Registered Nurse First Assistant exam, the applicant must be a licensed Registered Nurse with a Bachelor's Degree or Master's Degree. At least 2,000 hours of employment as an operating room nurse performing first assistant tasks are necessary. In addition, a credentialed RNFA education program should be completed.

There are four 3-month windows in which the Certified Registered Nurse First Assistant exam may be taken and the exam can only be taken one time during each exam window. The cost to take the exam is $425 for members of the Association of perioperative Registered Nurses (AORN) and $550 for nonmembers.

The Registered Nurse is allowed 3 hours to complete the Certified Registered Nurse First Assistant examination and it consists of 150 multiple-choice questions. The exam consists of questions pertaining to all aspects of perioperative care of the patient, with almost half of the exam focused on intraoperative procedures. This includes questions on patient safety, specific disease states that may place the patient at risk, and operating room procedures. There are also questions pertaining to the professional standards of the RN with Certified Registered Nurse First Assistant certification and ethical issues.

The Certified Registered Nurse First Assistant certification is valid for 5 years. There are several ways in which to meet the requirements for recertification. The RN would have to work at least 1,000 hours as a CRNFA and complete 200 continuing education hours or work at least 500 hours as a CRNFA and complete 300 continuing education hours. There is also the option of obtaining points to qualify for recertification. These points can be obtained by completing various professional activities in order to be eligible for recertification. Another option is to retake the Certified Registered Nurse First Assistant exam and work at least 1,000 hours as a CRNFA.

CRNFA Study Guide

Explore our free CRNFA review provided by Mometrix. Check out our premium CRNFA study guide to take your studying to the next level. If you benefit from these materials, just click the link below! To compliment our CRNFA book, we also offer extensive CRNFA flashcards for even more CRNFA test prep help. We hope you enjoy our products! Your purchase helps us make more great, free CRNFA certification content for test-takers just like yourself.

Nursing Certification Central

Practice Questions

1. The patient would most likely be placed in the lithotomy position for which type of surgery?

a. Spinal
b. Cranial
c. Gynecological
d. Thoracic

2. Retractors are used to:

a. cut or separate tissue.
b. remove tissue or other materials.
c. close the severed ends of a vessel.
d. hold back wound edges.

3. The meninges of the spinal cord consist of:

a. the dura mater, the spina mater, and the pia mater.
b. the dura mater, the arachnoid mater, and the pia mater.
c. the dura mater and the pia mater.
d. the dura mater, the arachnoid mater, and the spina mater.

4. The left lung is divided into:

a. superior and inferior lobes.
b. upper, lower, and medial lobes.
c. superior, middle, and inferior lobes.
d. costal and medial lobes.

5. Which of the following is an example of a Grade I neurological surgical complication?

a. Draining wound infection
b. Cerebral hemorrhage
c. Transient confusion that does not require therapy
d. TIA requiring anti-coagulant therapy

Answers & Explanations

1. C: The lithotomy position is commonly used for procedures that require a perineal approach, as the patient is placed in a supine position with both legs in stirrups. This position provides the surgeon with good visual and physical access to the perineal area. It is used for gynecologic, rectal, and urologic procedures and is commonly used in the United States for childbirth. There are four levels of lithotomy: the low lithotomy, standard lithotomy, high lithotomy and exaggerated lithotomy.

2. D: Retractors are surgical instruments used to hold back wound edges, tissues, or other structures in order to provide exposure of the operative site. There are two types of retractors: self-retaining and hand-held or manual retractors. Self-retaining retractors have two or more opposing blades separated by a spring or ratchet. These types of retractors do not need to be held once inserted. Manual retractors have some sort of handle with a blade at a right angle. A malleable or ribbon retractor is a flat piece of metal that can be shaped at the field.

3. B: The spinal cord is surrounded by three meninges: the dura mater, the arachnoid mater, and the pia mater. The dura mater is the outermost layer and the most durable. It is separated from the spinal column by a layer of fat. Beneath the dura mater is the arachnoid mater, a thin membrane that is pressed against the inner surface of the dura mater. It is held in place by CSF pressure from the subarachnoid space, which is the space between the arachnoid mater and the pia mater. The pia mater is the innermost and most delicate of the meninges.

4. A: The left lung is divided into an upper and lower lobe separated by an oblique fissure. The right lung is divided into three lobes: the superior, middle, and inferior lobes. Each lung is composed of 10 major segments, with each segment having its own bronchus and branches of the pulmonary artery and vein. The apex of each lung projects above the first rib and the bases rest on the diaphragm. The main function of the lung is to exchange carbon dioxide for oxygen.

5. C: A Grade I surgical complication is defined as any deviation from the normal postoperative course that does not require pharmacological treatment or surgical, radiological, or endoscopic interventions. According to the Clavien-Dindo Classification of Surgical Complications, allowed therapeutic regimens for a Grade I complication include certain drugs such as antiemetics, antipyretics, diuretics, analgesics, and electrolytes, as well as physiotherapy. This grade also includes wound infections that are opened at the bedside. Examples of Grade I complications include noninfectious diarrhea and a transient elevation of serum creatinine.

CRNFA Exam Blueprint and Breakdown


Last Updated: 07/05/2018

© 2018 Copyright | All Rights Reserved
All material on this website is copyrighted. provides free unofficial review materials for a variety of exams.
All trademarks are property of their respective owners.